As those who follow my Facebook, Instagram or Twitter might already know, I’ve just had the most amazing weekend at PAX AUS over in Melbourne. Being Perth based, making the trip over to Melbourne is no walk in the park (Australia is a big country), but PAX is always worth the trek. I always learn so much from the panels/guests, share great moments with other cosplayers and generally just soak in the positive vibes.

PikaPi (on the right) and I heading into PAX day 1 (Friday)

I’ve been to PAX many times, and the experience is always amazing! The quality of the stalls and positive vibes in particular – with a focus on gamified activities that net you free stuff, and staff having an approachable and friendly attitude. Furthermore, PAX is a great opportunity to meet with and learn from a bunch of industry professionals. That was actually one of my main goals this year – making an extra effort to attend some panels. Definitely worth it! I got a bunch of pointers for various creative endeavours I’m undertaking, including one I’m yet to properly announce…

Anywho, this likely brings me to the ‘Future Direction’ I mentioned in my title. My experiences at PAX taught me many things, and one of those is that I have to prioritise. I’m doing a lot – always busy with this or that. But what is it all for? Weekly art posts, inktober challenges, small mostly meaningless projects with little end goal… I’m gonna be cutting a lot from my schedule so I can focus on the bigger, more important projects, specifically the ones I don’t really talk about all that much on my social media accounts. So, I’ll be aiming to be less active across the board, focusing on actually getting work done, and posting more significant, more interesting updates, rather than a bunch of small, largely meaningless updates. My weekly blog will continue, as I’ve always gotten personal value out of that, and I try to use it to share my experiences and struggles in a way that might help you, the readers approach their own, possibly similar issues (specifically, last weeks blog about doubting your own abilities).

So, in short, I’ll be discontinuing my Inktober challenge, and putting a hold on my weekly Friday art posts. This is for the best of both worlds though, as I won’t be clogging up your news feeds with half-baked ideas, and so when I do post, hopefully it’ll be something big and interesting! All about regaining focus on projects that matter to me!

I want to wish the best of luck to all other Inktober participants who are still soldiering on! You can do it!

Alrighty, that’ll be all from me this week! Thanks for reading, and thanks to those who followed my Inktober prompts list up until now!

I’ll be adding this blog to my ‘promotions’ category, since I started off rambling about how amazing PAX is!

Leave a comment